Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Home
  2. chevron_right
  3. Frequently Asked Questions

What is a Recovery Mode?

Recovery mode helps you repair your installations and install an official operating system’s updates using a certain key combinations or instructions. In most Android devices in the recovery mode you can: fastboot the device, find more info about it, wipe data. You may also customize it to do so much more. The recovery mode is very typical for Android devices – you can find it in almost every one of them.

 

What is a Download Mode?

Download mode is a sub-system featured on your Android device that may be used to flash stock firmware or customized files. This type of mode is used mostly by Samsung devices and it may be compared to Fastboot / Bootloader Mode in HTC, Moto and Nexus devices.

 

What is a Bootloader Mode?

Bootloader is a set of codes which is executed every time an operating system begins to run. It instructs the system kernel to boot normally. The bootloader is usually locked by the manufacturers to prevent the users from changing the version of the operating system which is specially designed for the particular device. This mode is used in Android devices, especially in HTC phones.

 

What is a Fastboot Mode?

Fastboot is a protocol which may be used for updating the flash file system in your device. Using the fastboot you can modify the file system image from a computer via USB connection. It may come in handy when you want to do a quick update of the firmware without having to use the recovery mode. You can find this mode in devices such as HTC, Sony Xperia, Lenovo, Moto, and other MTK based phones.

What is a Safe Mode?

Safe mode enables you to power on your device when the third-party apps are disabled. With the safe mode turned on you have no problems removing all the applications which might be causing any conflicts or software problems.

What is a Factory Reset Protection (FRP)?

Android Factory Reset Protection (FRP) is a feature in some of the device with Android OS 5.1 or higher. FRP prevents from other people using your phone and performing a factory reset without your permission. Factory reset in that case is only possible with access to your Google Account and screen lock information.

Menu
Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami